Thomas Moore Tavern, Wexford

Testimonials

What our customers are saying

Here at Thomas Moore Tavern Wexford we are proud of our reputation among our valued customers and are therefore equally proud to share some of these with you…

Please feel free to leave a review on our Facebook Page here >>

It is always so nice to receive feedback from our customers, but this letter is particularly special
as it comes from a couple who celebrated their wedding at the Thomas Moore Tavern. It was our pleasure and privilege to make this a wedding day to remember for this lovely bride and groom.

Letter from couple following their wedding at the Thomas Moore Tavern

__________________________________________________________________________

It’s really lovely when a customer takes the time to write us a thank you note. It’s such a lovely gesture. The note read: Hi Mick, Thank you so much for all your hard work last Saturday night.You looked after us so well and made a great night extra special. Please also pass on my thanks to the rest of the lads, including the kitchen. Best wishes Susan.

___________________________________________________________________________

We are over the moon with “A travelers guide to Wexford” in the Wall Street Journal, where Brian Kellow writes “The Thomas Moore Tavern, a great place for a drink, day or night, has an excellent restaurant upstairs that serves a perfect fillet of Irish Hereford, aged 28 days, and wild Irish boar steak with chocolate jelly”  Read the fantastic article on Brian’s visit to Wexford in FULL HERE. Beautiful photos too.

- Wall Street Journal, November 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Great Friendly Pub”

Restaurant quality pub food. Excellent bar service from lovely staff and a great atmosphere. Music nights of traditional Irish music are a must.

- Visitor, April 2016

___________________________________________________________________________

Lovely Pub/Restaurant”

We had a gorgeous meal and drinks here midweek, my husband had a steak with all the usual sides and I had the special which was braised steak. Delicious! No room for desserts either! it’s a very nicely decorated restaurant, cosy booths and some cleverly laid out tables. Spotlessly clean, as was the main bar area which is also gorgeous. The staff were really friendly and helpful. There is a disabled loo on the ground floor and the others are upstairs and were as you’d hope to find them. Well worth a visit!

-Visitor Dublin, April 2016

___________________________________________________________________________

“Yummy”

Very atmospheric, it’s popular and the food is delicious. I rarely go to Wexford but I eat here when I do. Really nice environment.

- Visitor from Dublin, April 2016

___________________________________________________________________________

” Weekend Break”

Good service and delicious food. Our table was pre booked by the Faythe guesthouse and a special booth request as it was a birthday treat

- Visitor from Cork, April 2016

___________________________________________________________________________

“Good Service, Good Fun”

We were staying around the corner at a local hotel, and noticed that this ‘Pub’ was advertising live music (I am not sure it is every night, you need to check!) – so we decided to give it a try… and glad we did.

The musicians were good fun, many of the old favorites and a few interesting adaptions, they were having fun and it was spontaneous. And in the background, the bartender and his staff were taking care of customers – friendly polite service and a good selection of wine/beers (we did not eat here, so cannot comment on the kitchen).If they have live music – this place is surely worth an evening.

- Visitor from Germany.March 2016

___________________________________________________________________________

” Yummy Pub Food with a lot of Flair”

I popped by Thomas Moore Tavern, whilst passing through Wexford with a friend and we ordered a variety of dishes to share, because we couldn’t decide. The menu is full of your staple pub dishes, presented beautifully an edge. Worth a stop to fill your belly. Don’t miss the trad nights in the evening :)

-Visitor from Switzerland, March 2016

___________________________________________________________________________

“A Lovely Pub”

Very friendly staff with great food and great traditional music on tue night good porter and wine and nice cosy little pub.

- Visitor from Athlone

___________________________________________________________________________

“An Evening of Great Food & Lovely Atmosphere”

Dinner with friends in this Wexford favourite was a real treat. Waiting staff couldn’t have been more helpful. Food was delicious. Great selection on the menu. For dessert we ordered Apple and Pecan Chimmichanga. Delicious but huge. Shared it between 3 of us and had ample portions each. Try it. You won’t be disappointed!

- Visitor from Enniscorthy

___________________________________________________________________________

” A Lovely Pub with a Nice Atmosphere”

We ate here on Sunday night and this place has a nice crowd and had a great atmosphere – lovely helpful staff, especially the man behind the bar. food is good, price isn’t cheap but worth it. Id eat here again

- Visitor from Waterford

___________________________________________________________________________

” Mr Aidan Burke”

We ate here on 2 nights last weekend. In both occasions the food was really good and the staff were very helpful and efficient. On Saturday night there was music provided free and the singer was absolutley brilliant. Great spot we’ll be back

- Visitor ( no place stated)

___________________________________________________________________________

Christmas Dinner

The food and the service were excellent and I mean excellent. To start, the party arrived a little staggered so we had a drink as we waited for the late comers.When the late girls came we proceeded to our table where we were made very welcome, we were so well looked after one would think we were the only guest there, and I said before the food was excellent, will be back.

- Visitor from Wexford, Visited December 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Wonderful Irish Pub & Restaurant”

You don’t visit this pub, you experience it! It has rooms and alcoves that seem to go on forever, and which always seem to be busy at any time of the day, so booking is essential. The food is ‘coastal Irish’ with plenty of fresh seafood (try the seafood chowder), but also standard pub fare such as burgers. Music in the evenings brings a real atmosphere and the Guinness is reputed to be the best in that part of Ireland. Plenty of attentive and friendly staff means you don’t have to wait too long to be served, but you will probably want to linger!

- Visitor from Birmingham, Visited October 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Interesting Place, Great Food”

This place is so popular, could only get a table at 6.30 which they needed back for 8 one Saturday recently. However, the food, service, presentation of food in particular and style of the place were all first-class. The prices are somewhat steep but there is a good choice and the standard is high but to be fair, there are cheaper options, such as chicken curry. Would definitely eat there again when in Wexford.

- Visitor from Kildare, February 2016

___________________________________________________________________________

Different Decor Pub Grub”

Great place for lunch for family meal- funky decor in the restaurant, best burger ever according to my hubby a real man’s burger and great value for money. If in Wexford try a lunch here- just super! Been there lots of times – never disappointed.

- Visitor from Dublin, February 2016

___________________________________________________________________________

” My Favourite Lunch Place”

Thomas Moore Tavern is definitely the best eatery in Wexford, modern, clean and has really good attentive service.It was my favourite place for lunch when I used to live in Wexford. It became my must be at every lunch time! I was never disappointed and the Panko Crumbed Lemon Sole they used to have.. (not sure if it is still on the menu) was absolutely to die for!
Delicious is an understatement. Can’t wait to visit Wexford and my favourite Curracloe Beach which will be great excuse to dine at Thomas Moore Tavern!!

- Visitor from Dublin, visited March 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Wedding Meal”

We celebrated our wedding meal here with our family & friends. We got the private function room & bar upstairs that was wheel chair accessible. It provided an elegant setting & hosted a pianist for us. The manager (Rom) could not have been more helpful in meeting with us before the day & on the day to ensure everything went off perfectly. The quality of food was superb & all dietary requirements were accommodated. The staff provided an amazing service to all the guests. My husband & I could not have wished for better. The team in Thomas Moore Tavern certainly enhanced the experience on our special day.( Wedding May 2015)

- Visitor February 2016

___________________________________________________________________________

Exceptional Food & Great Atmosphere”

Myself and my husband returned last Friday night for dinner. Exceptional food, the steak was mouth watering and cooked to perfection, my husband had the chicken and it was very tasty indeed. The atmosphere was great so much so we stayed for drinks in the bar after dinner. All the staff were very friendly without being in your face. We will return the next time we are in Wexford.

- Visitor from Wexford – Jan 2016

___________________________________________________________________________

“Limited Lunch Menu but Delicious Food”

Having walked 10k at Curracloe we were hungry and did a TripAdvisor search. We found the Thomas Moore had a lot of great reviews and had seen many refer to an extensive menu
When we arrived the lunch menu was on but initially I felt there wasn’t much on then menu which I fancied. However I chose the curry and was not disappointed. Really delicious served with a raita , rice and chips I finished the lot. I will certainly return to try the main restaurant à la Carte menu. Also service here is very good and very friendly.

-Visitor from Waterford, January 2016

___________________________________________________________________________

“Great Food”

Had dinner here 2 nights in a row… once from the pub menu and once from the restaurant menu… food was really good for a friendly price. .. loved the way the food was presented. The chocolate brownie with home made Bailey’s ice cream dessert is to die for…. will travel back to Wexford just to have it again.

-Visitor from the Netherlands, December 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Lunch”

Heard so many things about this place , that I had a business lunch here . Was fab , food was excellent , very fresh and tasted lovely. Very enjoyable hour and would have loved to stay longer to soak up the wonderful atmosphere

-Visitor from Co Dublin, October 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

Ticks all the boxes. A must when in Wexford

This place has it all. Great food, great service and great atmosphere. The multiple levels have different themes.Rustic cosy pub, classic dining, easy dining and even a heated smoking terrace that is semi-outside! Super Oysters and amazing steak.Good selection of wines.
Extremely professionally run. An absolute gem !

- December 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Best meal of this year”

My wife and I were in Wexford overnight and stumbled on this lovely Tavern beside our hotel. I had tried to book the Greenacre restaraunt online but they never bothered to reply to me. It turns out that their loss was our biggest gain this year. From the moment we entered this warm and friendly bar, we were immediatley greeted with friendlieness and car. The menu is well set out and attractive. The restaraunt is a joy to behold. The food however, was absolutely stunning. Steph our waitress and Caoimhe the manager did everything possible to ensure we had a relaxed and enjoyable eevening. All of the staff are warm and enthusiastic people. We had one of the best nights ever in this lovely tavern and we will return. Well done to all concerned

-Wicklow Visitor, December 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Quiet drink after work” 

Visited on Thursday 10th December for an after work drink, excellent bar man, observant, efficient and friendly. He handled an awkward situation very discreetly so that customers didn’t even realise there was a problem. while we were only here for drinks, there is a good food menu, and we did notice some tantalising dishes being served to diners.

- Wexford Visitor, December 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Great Lunch!”

Had lunch here and it was lovely. Well presented beautiful sandwiches and chicken wings. Nice atmosphere and bar staff very friendly. Centrally located for a bit of shopping first!

- Dublin Visitor, December 2015

________________________________________________________________________

“A Hidden Gem”

I went here for a business dinner and was seated in restaurant area. This area is very very nice with a lot of atmosphere. Their wine list are exceptional with good offers. The food is also a chapter of itself. It’s delicious, the portions are perfect size and side dishes aligned with what you are having. It’s definitely a must..

- Copenhagen Visitor, November 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Good Service and Food”

I went here with a group of work colleagues. We weren’t that hungry as we had a large lunch during the day. but needed food as we were going to be having a drink later. The food was really nice and the staff very accommodating and friendly.

-Dell, Bray, November 2015

__________________________________________________________________________

“What a Delight”

Visited here on a weekend break in Wexford. I went for the Dover Sole and have to say it was the nicest piece of fish I’ve had in ages – delicious. My husband chose the Wexford Lamb panel, again what a delight. Good food, friendly staff and great atmosphere, we’ll be back.

- Dublin Visitor November 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Great bar and Beautiful Bistro”

Had dinner in the bistro with my family, quality food and great service. The atmosphere in the bar and bistro was really great and we all had a lovely night out, couldn’t ask for any better.

- Wexford Visitor, November 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

Good Food, Good Venue, Nice Staff”

Good pub grub. Nice variety on menu. Good size portions. You can choose to sit in bar area or go into restaurant section so should fit whatever mood your in. The staff on duty that day were very pleasant.

- Kildare Visitor, November 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Always Fresh & Delicious Food”

Recommend definitely! Always crew are very nice, and food looks very delicious and it is very tasty.

- Monika Oct 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Good Bistro Atmosphere”

A fine dining restaurant operates right next to a lively pub section of this vibrant tavern. We enjoyed oysters, chicken and wild boar!

-UK Visitor Oct 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

A Magnificant Restaurant

A magnificent dining experience with superb food, great atmosphere and very friendly staff. Portions are generous and well presented.

-MarkJean, South Africa, Oct 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

Excellent All Round

Visited TMT just last night. The beef burger was exceptional; certainly the finest I’ve had in some time. The curry was excellent too; as were the Guinness battered onion rings. Greeted by Nick, the very friendly barman when we arrived and given details about the Spiegeltent Festival, which we were in Wexford for. TMT comes highly recommended already on Trip Advisor and I can see why. Some of the dishes were a little on the expensive side, but not the burger or curry; both around €14 (if memory serves me right).

-Stephen, Dublin, Oct 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

Lovely pub, restaurant”

Got a very friendly welcome on entering. I had mussels to start and these were delicious and the portion size was huge, more like a main course. Had a fillet steak for main, delicious and cooked to perfection as were the dauphenoise potatoes. No room for pudding.

-Visitor from England, Oct 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Best Burger in a long time”

I thought €16 for a burger and chips might be on the pricey side but for what you get, I think it’s a damn good price :) I had the beef and blue cheese option last night and it was fantastic right to the last bite, as were the chips. Am going back to try another item tonight. Price of a pint of Guinness about the same as elsewhere, maybe a few p more.

-Bernard, New Zealand, Sept 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Good Hearty Portions”

8 of us arrived without reservation and were shown to a nice table. Service was good and all had a great pub meal. The portions were enormous. I had the pork belly ribs – yummy (although not convinced by the baked potato) Lots had a beef or chicken burger – highly recommended.

-Johnny, UK, Sept 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Good Food” 

Very good pub food. We enjoyed talking with Mick the bartender. Convenient parking at White’s hotel. We would recommend.

~Visitor from Maine, Sept 2015

___________________________________________________________________________

“Amazing Food!”

Food was amazing and the staff were so welcoming. They have a bar and restaurant and a lift to get to the higher floors.

~Dublin visitor

___________________________________________________________________________

Visited here for lunch on the 6th Sept 2015 and have to say the food was superb…There were 4 of us dining and the quality and flavours of the food were excellent…All that was had by all was of a very high standard and all for a very reasonable price…I would also like to mention the staff at the tavern who are really friendly and couldn’t be more helpful…Cant wait to return……:)

~Jason Swansea

__________________________________________________________________________

“Full as a Bull”

We called into the Thomas Moore for an afternoon snack, OMG it finished us off. really good portions and fantastic quality and value. The service staff and bar men are outstanding!

~Mike, Swansea

___________________________________________________________________________

“Great Venue”

Great decor and food. My wife’s party was held in the Piano Room and it was excellent. Bar staff were great,. Linda was very helpful. Would recommend for small events

~Michael, New York, August 2015

__________________________________________________________________________

We had a lovely meal in your restaurant a few weeks ago during our first trip to Ireland, we had a very nice French Malbec with our meal and would be very grateful if you could let me have details of this wine as it was amazing. The service was great and we will be back!

~ David

___________________________________________________________________________

“Will be back”

Myself and my wife were staying in Whites hotel and a friend of mine who works in the food business recommended we eat at Thomas Moore Tavern. I have to say we werent let down. We ate from the bistro menu. I had the traditional scoth broth to start and it was delicious, real chunky peices of tender lamb in the broth, my wife had the grilled crispy salad, she said it was lovely and fresh. I had the 10oz ribeye steak from the recommendation of my friend in food business. It will go down as the nicest steak I have eaten, my friend says this is down to the Hereford Beef that the Thomas Moore Tavern uses, he said it cant be got everywhere. My wife had the greek style lamb chops and she loved them, totally unusual and very creative by the chef.

We thought we wouldn’t be able for a dessert but we shared the Apple chimichanga and we cleared the plate, it was divine.
All in all a very memorable meal in Thomas Moore Tavern, lovely atmosphere, lovely staff and a lovely bar for some pints afterwards, as I said earlier we Will Be Back :-).

Harold, Dublin, 16 March 2014


“Wonderful”

Wow what a find, called In on the off chance, had one of our best ever meals ever, steak was perfection… service excellent such a shame it was our last night in Wexford. Don’t miss this restaurant.
Theresa, Leicestershire,
4 March 2014


Creme Brulee is to die for!!

Such a great place and if you’re lucky enough to be there on a night of live music then that’s even better!! The food is delicious and the wine is really fabulous! Lovely atmosphere and the service is second to none! Will return.


What an excellent Fillet Steak!!!!
I ate in the restaurant in Thomas Moores earlier this week with a group of work colleagues and I can only say good things about it. Firstly, the staff were absolutely great and were very friendly and accommodating. I had heard great things about the spicy chicken wings, so I simply had to try them as a starter. I was not disappointed, and they were not only hot and spicy, but so full of flavour and I really enjoyed every one of them, and there was a good generous portion too! For my main, I decided to have the 28 day matured 10oz fillet steak. At €32 it’s probably one of the most expensive items on the menu, but believe me it was worth every cent. To begin, I really like steak. I have to say that I cannot remember ever having a more tender or delicious steak in all my life. I was given a steak knife, but I don’t think it was necessary as the steak was so tender and melt in the mouth. The portion was very generous and even though I was stuffed afterwards, I was sorry to see that it was all gone. I did not have a dessert, but WHEN I go back again, I will certainly give one a try. The furnishings and decor in the restaurant are all very tasteful and of a very high standard and it all came together as a very nice package indeed. Make sure that you put this restaurant on your list, and remember to order that fillet steak!!


Excellent lunch, great service and value
Just around the corner from Whites Hotel in Wexford, this is a classy ‘pub’ and the food and service is to match. The prices thankfully don’t match and I had a fantastic supreme of chicken, stuffed with sausage, wrapped in bacon with potatoes and veg for just €10.90. The presentation was perfect and the service attentive. Kids meals are just a fiver which is a bonus too. It’s a very relaxed atmosphere and serves lunch (Thurs to Sun I think) from 12-6pm which is very handy and means they don’t up their prices after 2.30 which a lot of places do. Highly recommended.

Freshly cooked food in a calming ambiance.

Wonderful food in a sophisticated setting. Fantastic hosts. Had sunday lunch, spring rolls and half roast chicken. Succulent chicken extremally well presented. Dont miss out on this gem of a property in Wexford town.


Good Stuff!
Visited Thomas Moore Tavern last weekend for lunch with my girlfriend,we were given a friendly welcome, the menu was quite Imaginative, when we were seated a bowl of homemade crisps and chutney arrived -( this was very good touch i thought). We order a salad of butternut squash and feta cheese and selection of bruschetta ,when the food arrived we were amazed at the level of presentation(food looked top notch) couldn`t fault the flavours…spot on.After that we decided to have a glass of the house wine (Sauvignon Blanc ) it was a very nice wine reasonably priced at 4.90 a glass!!! Our main courses were top notch (Real Greek Moussaka and Fish Cakes). Our server(Paulina) was one in a million,very attentive,chatty and professional.We enjoyed our lunch experience so much we tried to book a table for dinner but they were booked out much to our disappointment. Our number one restaurant in Wexford by far. Would def return.


Fabulous food, great value, highly recommended!
A group of colleagues and I ate here recently: we paid 30 Euro each, including wine, for a delicious 3 course meal (Early Bird Menu, though that wasn’t planned!). Beautiful food, lovely flavours, attentive but not overbearing service, good atmosphere, altogether a great place to eat – go!!


Excellent Private Party Venue
I just wanted to thank you ever so much for making Saturday night (20th July 2013) a very special night! And pass on all the compliments from our party –

The meal was fabulous – You have a beautiful venue, the combination of Spires Restaurant and the Piano Bar make for a great party night, and so many people said to me that they would be returning – Thanks to Rom, Colin and all the staff they were very professional and attended to every detail, Lisa

Read more reviews